SIS Berlin

Bilingual Education on an Idyllic Campus.

English and German are equally important languages of instruction at the bilingual SIS Berlin. Throughout their holistic development from preschool to graduation, our students benefit from the school’s ideal learning environment. Our campus is an idyllic park on the western outskirts of Berlin.

Dear parents,

I am pleased to welcome you to SIS Swiss International School Berlin. Our school is located in a quiet suburb in the west of Berlin (Spandau) in an idyllic park. The campus comprises the historic Villa Amalienhof, various school buildings, 60.000 square metres of wooded parkland, as well as several outdoor play areas including an area especially designed for our preschool children. Thus our school offers a lot of space for the students of our three educational levels as well as for the implementation of our bilingual concept.

At SIS Berlin, we guide our students on their way from preschool through primary and secondary school to the university-preparatory upper school, which concludes with the Berlin Abitur. Students also have the option of completing the International Baccalaureate (IB) in addition to the Abitur.

Teaching is based on the Berlin state curriculum supplemented by elements taken from international educational practise. The children and students learn the two school languages English and German through immersion: Students dive headfirst into the new language, which surrounds them in class as well as during extra-curricular activities and study time. Native or near native level German- and English-speaking teachers teach and supervise your children so that 50 % of the lessons and the school day take place in each language.

As a day school with additional early morning and afternoon supervision, SIS Berlin reaches out to families from the greater Berlin area (we offer a shuttle bus), as well as to internationally mobile parents seeking to provide their children with a first-rate education in an intercultural setting. If you are considering enrolment at SIS Berlin, please contact our school office for a campus visit and a personal interview. We look forward to meeting you.

Kind regards
Stefanie Hausmann, Interim Principal

SIS Berlin

Zweisprachig aufwachsen in idyllischer Umgebung.

An der bilingualen SIS Berlin sind Englisch und Deutsch gleichberechtigte Sprachen. Unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler werden in ihrer ganzheitlichen Entwicklung vom Kindergartenalter bis zur Hochschulreife durch ein ideales Lernumfeld begünstigt. Unser Schulcampus ist ein idyllischer Park im Westen Berlins.

Liebe Eltern,

herzlich willkommen an der SIS Berlin – es freut mich, dass Sie sich für unsere zweisprachige Schule interessieren. Die SIS Berlin befindet sich in einem ruhigen, westlich gelegenen Vorort von Berlin auf einem idyllischen Parkgelände. Der Campus umfasst die historische Villa Amalienhof, verschiedene Schulgebäude, einen 60.000 Quadratmeter großen Park mit alten Baumbeständen und Grasflächen, Sspielplätze sowie ein Areal für unsere Kindergartenkinder. Somit bietet unsere Schule viel Platz für alle Altersstufen und für die Umsetzung unseres zweisprachigen Konzeptes.

An der SIS Berlin begleiten wir Kinder vom Kindergarten über die Grundschule, die Integrierte Sekundarschule bis zur gymnasialen Oberstufe, die mit dem Abitur des Landes Berlin abschließt. Optional können die Schülerinnen und Schüler zusätzlich zum Abitur das International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma ablegen. Wir unterrichten nach dem Berliner Rahmenlehrplan, ergänzt um internationale Elemente. Die beiden Schulsprachen Deutsch und Englisch lernen die Kinder, Schülerinnen und Schüler durch das Immersionsprinzip, dem so genannten Sprachbad: Muttersprachlich kompetente Lehrkräfte unterrichten und betreuen Ihre Kinder jeweils in ihrer Sprache, so dass ca. 50 % des Unterrichts und Schulalltags auf Englisch bzw. Deutsch stattfinden.

Als gebundene Ganztagsschule mit zusätzlicher Früh- und Spätbetreuung richtet sich unser Bildungsangebot an Familien aus dem Großraum Berlin (ein Shuttle-Bus-Service wird angeboten), gerade auch an international mobile Eltern, die ihrem Kind eine hochwertige Schulbildung in einem interkulturellen Umfeld bieten wollen. Wenn Sie an einem Schulplatz an der SIS Berlin interessiert sind, vereinbaren Sie bitte einen Gesprächstermin über unser Schulbüro. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch.

Ihre
Stefanie Hausmann (kommissarische Schulleiterin)