Secondary School

Whether the Abitur or the IB – the school-leaving certificates our students earn leave them free to follow whichever educational path they choose.

SIS Stuttgart-Fellbach’s Secondary School offers the preparation for two attractive school-leaving certificates –the German Abitur and, if desired, the International Baccalaureate (IB). With the German Abitur or the IB , there is no limit to the educational opportunities our students can pursue.

At the bilingual, private secondary school at SIS Stuttgart-Fellbach, English and German are given equal weight. Each subject is usually taught in one language – either in English or in German – for the duration of one school year.

German- and English-speaking teachers – who are usually native speakers – teach at our Secondary School. All teachers are state-approved and either completed their teacher training in Germany or have an equivalent qualification.
 

Areas of Focus: Bilingual Education and Sciences

We teach according to the Baden-Württemberg curriculum for eight-year secondary schools. In the interest of a solid and broad education, we focus not only on bilingualism, but also on mathematics and natural sciences. We have project days and weeks on various topics in the natural sciences on a regular basis. Our students present their results in a science fair, and the best ideas and projects receive awards.
 

Additional Subjects and Activities

Art, music and athletics are also an integral part of our private school. Our art studio provides the space where the works of art featured in our annual art show are designed and created; rehearsals for concerts and musicals take place in our auditorium; gym class is held in our gymnasium located right in front of our main building. Debate courses and competitions, student exchange programmes as well as class trips all provide further stimulation for language development while also enriching our school life.
 

Certificates: Abitur and IB

Our students graduate with the German Abitur. However, as a recognised IB World School, we also provide the opportunity of simultaneously earning the International Baccalaureate (IB). In years 11 and 12, students follow an integrated programme that prepares them for both sets of exams.

The academically challenging combination of Abitur and IB is only offered at a handful of German schools, making it one of the distinct benefits of attending SIS.
 

Access to Universities across the World

With the International Baccalaureate (IB), your children earn a globally recognised university entrance qualification that prepares them superbly for university studies, especially in the English-speaking world. The Diploma Programme is characterised by three distinctive features. The subject area Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) gives students the opportunity to engage actively in arts, sports and community service activities. The theory of knowledge course teaches students to develop independent and critical thinking skills. And by crafting the extended essay, they practise the methods of academic work extensively.
 

State Recognised

Our Secondary School is a state recognised private school and thus enjoys equivalent status with public schools. Exams and school reports, in particular the Abitur exam, are equivalent to those issued by state schools.

Please take note of this important information on the school's status.

 

College student at SIS Swiss International School
Students at SIS Swiss International School

Gymnasium

Ob Abitur oder IB: Wir führen Jugendliche zu Abschlüssen, die später alle Bildungswege offen lassen.

Im Gymnasium bietet die SIS Stuttgart-Fellbach mit der Vorbereitung auf das Abitur und optional auf das International Baccalaureate (IB) zwei interessante Abschlüsse an. Wer das Abitur oder das IB in der Tasche hat, dem stehen alle Bildungswege offen.

Zweisprachiges Gymnasium

Im bilingualen, privaten Gymnasium der SIS Stuttgart-Fellbach sind Englisch und Deutsch gleichberechtigte Sprachen. Ein Fach wird üblicherweise für die Dauer eines Schuljahres in einer Sprache, also entweder in Englisch oder in Deutsch, unterrichtet.

Deutsch- und englischsprachige Pädagogen, die in der Regel Muttersprachler sind, lehren an unserem Gymnasium. Alle Lehrkräfte sind staatlich genehmigt und haben entweder ihr Lehramtsstudium in Deutschland absolviert oder eine vergleichbare Ausbildung.
 

Schwerpunkte: Zweisprachigkeit und Naturwissenschaften

Wir unterrichten nach den baden-württembergischen Bildungsplänen für das achtjährige Gymnasium. Im Sinne einer soliden und breit gefächerten Ausbildung liegt neben der Zweisprachigkeit ein weiterer Schwerpunkt im mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich. Wir führen regelmäßig Projekttage und -wochen zu naturwissenschaftlichen Themen durch; die Ergebnisse präsentieren unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler im Rahmen einer internen Ausstellung, bei der die besten Ideen und Umsetzungen ausgezeichnet werden.
 

Weitere Fächer und Aktivitäten

Auch Kunst, Musik und Sport haben ihren Platz an unserer privaten Schule: In unserem Kunstatelier werden die Kunstwerke für die jährlich stattfindende Kunstausstellung entworfen, im Auditorium wird für Konzerte und Musicalaufführungen geprobt und in unserer Sporthalle direkt vor unserem Gebäude findet der Sportunterricht statt. Debattier-Kurse und -Veranstaltungen, Schüleraustausche sowie Klassenfahrten fördern zusätzlich die Sprachpraxis und bereichern unser Schulleben.
 

Abitur und IB

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler schließen unsere Schule mit dem baden-württembergischen Abitur ab. Als anerkannte IB World School bieten wir ihnen darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, zusätzlich das International Baccalaureate (IB) abzulegen. In den Klassenstufen 11 und 12 durchlaufen die Schülerinnen und Schüler ein integriertes Programm, das sie auf beide Abschlüsse vorbereitet.

Die anspruchsvolle Kombination von Abitur und IB wird nur an wenigen Schulen in Deutschland angeboten und ist eine Besonderheit unserer Schule.
 

Zugang zu Hochschulen weltweit

Mit dem International Baccalaureate (IB) erlangen die Jugendlichen eine weltweit anerkannte Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, die sie sehr gut auf ein Universitätsstudium insbesondere im englischsprachigen Raum vorbereitet. Das Diploma Programme bietet drei Besonderheiten: Im Bereich CAS (Creativity, Activity, Service) werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler künstlerisch, sportlich und sozial aktiv. Theory of Knowledge (Erkenntnistheorie) lehrt sie, eine unabhängige, kritische Denkweise einzunehmen. Mit der Anfertigung des Extended Essay üben sie intensiv die Methoden des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens ein.
 

Staatlich anerkannt

Unser Gymnasium ist eine staatlich anerkannte Ersatzschule und damit gleichwertig zu staatlichen Schulen. Prüfungen und Zeugnisse, insbesondere auch die Abiturprüfung, sind jenen staatlicher Schulen gleichgestellt.

Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die Hinweise zum Status der Schule.

 

Gymnasialschülerin an der SIS Swiss International School
Schüler lösen Aufgaben an der SIS Swiss International School