Secondary School

Whether the Abitur or IB – the school-leaving certificates our students earn leave them free to follow whichever educational path they choose.

SIS Regensburg's Secondary School offers the preparation for two attractive school-leaving certificates – the German Abitur and, if desired, the International Baccalaureate (IB). With the German Abitur or the IB, there is no limit to the educational opportunities available to our students.

At our bilingual private Secondary School at SIS Regensburg, we teach according to the Bavarian state curriculum for eight-year secondary schools with a focus on languages. English and German are equally important, both as languages of instruction and in other parts of daily school life. Each subject is typically taught in one of the school's two teaching languages for the duration of one school year.

German- and English-speaking teachers – who are usually native speakers – teach at our Secondary School. All teachers are state approved and either completed their teacher training in Germany or have an equivalent qualification.
 

Creative Activities in Daily School Life

Art and music, in particular the performing arts, are an integral part of our private school. Performing arts is a required subject from grades 5 to 7. The students learn German and English poetry and plays and stage them using music and dance. The annual Night of Poetry and Recital attracts a large audience and is always a highlight.
 

Certificates: Abitur and IB

Our students graduate with the Bavarian Abitur. However, as a recognised IB World School, we also offer them the opportunity to simultaneously obtain the International Baccalaureate (IB). In grades 11 and 12, students follow an integrated programme that prepares them for both sets of exams. The academically challenging combination of Abitur and IB is only offered at a handful of German schools, making it one of the distinct benefits of attending SIS.
 

Access to Universities across the World

With the International Baccalaureate (IB), your children earn a university entrance qualification that prepares them superbly for university studies, especially in the English-speaking world. The Diploma Programme is characterised by three distinctive features. The subject area Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) gives students the opportunity to engage actively in arts, sports and community service activities. The theory of knowledge course teaches students to develop independent and critical thinking skills. And by crafting the extended essay, they practise the methods of academic work extensively.
 

State Approved

The secondary school at SIS Regensburg is a state approved private school. Please take note of this important information on the school's status.
 

Mediathek
Two students at SIS Swiss International School

Gymnasium

Ob Abitur oder IB: Wir führen Jugendliche zu Abschlüssen, die später alle Bildungswege offen lassen.

Im Gymnasium bietet die SIS Regensburg mit der Vorbereitung auf das Abitur und optional auf das International Baccalaureate (IB) zwei interessante Abschlüsse an. Wer das Abitur oder das IB in der Tasche hat, dem stehen alle Bildungswege offen.

Zweisprachiges Gymnasium

Im bilingualen, privaten Gymnasium der SIS Regensburg unterrichten wir nach dem bayerischen Lehrplan für das achtjährige Gymnasium mit sprachlichem Schwerpunkt. Englisch und Deutsch sind gleichberechtigte Unterrichts- und Arbeitssprachen. Ein Fach wird üblicherweise für die Dauer eines Schuljahres in einer der beiden Schulsprachen unterrichtet.

Deutsch- und englischsprachige Pädagogen, die in der Regel Muttersprachler sind, lehren an unserem Gymnasium. Alle Lehrkräfte sind staatlich genehmigt und haben entweder ihr Lehramtsstudium in Deutschland absolviert oder verfügen über eine vergleichbare Ausbildung.
 

Kreative Aktivitäten im Schulalltag

Kunst und Musik, insbesondere die darstellenden Künste, haben ihren festen Platz an unserer privaten Schule: Performing Arts ist ein verpflichtendes Schulfach von der 5. bis zur 7. Klasse. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler erlernen deutsche und englische Gedichte und Theaterstücke und setzen diese szenisch mit Musik und Tanz um. Ein Höhepunkt ist der jährlich stattfindende Sprechkunstabend vor großem Publikum.
 

Abitur und IB

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler schließen unsere Schule mit dem bayerischen Abitur ab. Als anerkannte IB World School bieten wir ihnen darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, zusätzlich das International Baccalaureate (IB) abzulegen. In den Klassenstufen 11 und 12 durchlaufen die Schülerinnen und Schüler ein integriertes Programm, das sie auf beide Abschlüsse vorbereitet. Die anspruchsvolle Kombination von Abitur und IB wird nur an wenigen Schulen in Deutschland angeboten und ist eine Besonderheit unserer Schule.
 

Zugang zu Hochschulen weltweit

Mit dem International Baccalaureate (IB) erlangen die Jugendlichen eine weltweit anerkannte Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, die sie sehr gut auf ein Universitätsstudium insbesondere im englischsprachigen Raum vorbereitet. Das Diploma Programme bietet drei Besonderheiten: Im Bereich CAS (Creativity, Action, Service) werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler künstlerisch, sportlich und sozial aktiv. Theory of Knowledge (Erkenntnistheorie) lehrt sie, eine unabhängige, kritische Denkweise einzunehmen. Mit der Anfertigung des Extended Essay üben sie intensiv die Methoden des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens ein.
 

Staatlich genehmigt

Unser Gymnasium ist eine staatlich genehmigte Ersatzschule. Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die Hinweise zum Status der Schule.
 

Mediathek
Zwei Schüler an der SIS Swiss International School