Reception Programme

Language acquisition that begins early and unfolds in a natural environment leads to life-long competence.

“The sooner, the better” – a proven fact when it comes to learning a language. It is precisely at the preschool stage that children are at an age when they are particularly receptive to language influences. This is why it is important not only to practise speaking both languages often, but also to use them naturally in daily life. As a result, the reception years will prove to be a varied and exciting time for both children and parents.

The Reception Programme at SIS Kassel aims to provide children with a smooth and gentle transition from kindergarten to primary school and is a part of the primary school.
 

Curriculum

In the first year of the reception programme, children are introduced to the subjects of primary school lessons, the daily routine and the structure of our school, all in a playful way. Many familiar rituals from preschool are adopted and gradually expanded to include the habits and rules that are a part of school life. Playful, hands-on learning activities alternate with times for free play. In the second year, lessons are closely modelled on Hesse's state core curriculum for grade 1 and are supplemented by additional teaching elements and lessons. After completing the second year of the reception programme, children generally go on to grade 2 of primary school.
 

Bilingual Lessons

Throughout the entire reception programme, children are taught and supervised by German-speaking and English-speaking teachers. Thus, both teaching languages are given roughly equal weight in the daily routine of the foundation stage. It is important to us that the children in our foundation stage not only learn their lessons, but that they also acquire abilities and skills that encourage them to think and discover for themselves.
 

School Hours

Lessons take place from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., and school days are divided into regular intervals with time for learning, play and breaks. Our early care from 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. allows children to arrive and get ready for the day. We provide homework supervision from 3 p.m. to 4 p.m. From 4 p.m. to 6 p.m., your children can participate in after-school clubs, or they can read, play or rest.
 

Boys reading at SIS Swiss International School
Children walking together at SIS Swiss International School

Eingangsstufe

Frühe Sprachbildung im natürlichen Umfel bringt lebenslange Sprachkompetenz.

»Je früher, desto besser« gilt beim Spracherwerb nachweislich. Gerade im Vorschulalter findet eine starke Sprachprägung statt und es wichtig, beide Schulsprachen nicht nur häufig zu sprechen, sondern auch zu leben. Das Ergebnis ist eine für Kinder und Eltern abwechslungsreiche und anregende Vorschulzeit.

Die Eingangsstufe der SIS Kassel bietet eine reibungslose Heranführung vom Kindergarten in die Grundschule und ist ein Teil der Grundschule.
 

Lerninhalte

Die Kinder werden im ersten Jahr der Eingangsstufe spielerisch an die Inhalte des Grundschulunterrichts, den Tagesablauf und die Strukturen unserer Schule herangeführt. Viele bekannte Rituale aus dem Kindergarten werden aufgenommen und sukzessive um schulische Gewohnheiten und Regeln erweitert. Spielerische, handlungsorientierte Lernaktivitäten und Zeiten zum freien Spiel wechseln sich ab. Die Inhalte im zweiten Jahr orientieren sich eng am hessischen Kerncurriculum für die 1. Klasse und werden um zusätzliche Unterrichtseinheiten und Lernzeiten ergänzt. Am Ende des zweiten Jahres der Eingangsstufe erfolgt in der Regel der Übertritt in die 2. Klasse der Grundschule.
 

Zweisprachiger Unterricht

Während der gesamten Eingangsstufe werden die Kinder von deutsch- und englischsprachigen Pädagogen unterrichtet und betreut. Damit sind die beiden Schulsprachen zu etwa gleichen Teilen im Alltag der Eingangsstufe verankert. Wir legen Wert darauf, dass die Kinder in der Eingangsstufe nicht nur Lerninhalte, sondern auch Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen erwerben, die sie zu eigenständigem Forschen und Denken anregen.
 

Unterrichtszeiten

Der Unterricht findet von 8:30 bis 15 Uhr statt, rhythmisiert durch den Wechsel von Lern-, Spiel- und Pausenzeiten. Während der Frühbetreuung von 7:30 bis 8:30 Uhr kommen die Kinder an und stimmen sich auf den Tag ein. Von 15 bis 16 Uhr bieten wir eine Hausaufgabenbetreuung an. In der Zeit von 16 bis 18 Uhr können Ihre Kinder an Arbeitsgemeinschaften teilnehmen, lesen, spielen oder sich ausruhen.
 

Jungen lesen an der SIS Swiss International School
Ausflug mit dem Kindergarten der SIS Swiss International School