SIS Kassel

One school, two languages, many cultures!

At SIS Kassel, native-speaking teachers implement the bilingual concept, bringing it to life amidst a close-knit school community. Both local and international families value the school's international flair and bilingual education.

Dear parents,
our Primary School with Reception Programme opened its doors in September 2014 in Kassel-Marbachshöhe. Our new school building offers a safe and comfortable learning environment in a familiar learning community. Starting with the school year 2017/18, SIS Kassel plans to offer a bilingual secondary school.

Our goal is to support and challenge our students every day. Our focus is on teaching academic contents based on the Hessian state curriculum supplemented with international curriculum components as well as curriculum elements specifically developed by SIS. At the same time we guide our students to grow into citizens who take on social responsibility. Respect, openness, tolerance, local insight and international mindedness play an important role in our school community.

Our two school languages German and English play an equal role in the course of the school day. The students are taught by native speakers who communicate in his or her mother tongue with the students in order to expose them to authentic learning situations. We consistently adopt the philosophy of “one person, one language” which creates an ideal environment for language acquisition.

Our Reception Programme is for students from five to seven years. The students learn in a playful way the contents of the primary school such as the alphabet and the numbers at least to 10 – of course in English and in German. After one or two years in our Reception Programme, the students move up to our Primary School.

Admission to SIS Kassel is possible at the beginning of the school year as well as at any other time throughout the year. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.

We are looking forward to meeting you!

Kind regards,
Sebastian Koch, Principal

SIS Kassel

Eine Schule, zwei Sprachen, viele Kulturen!

An der SIS Kassel wird in einer familiären Schulgemeinschaft das bilinguale Konzept mit muttersprachlichen Lehrkräften umgesetzt und mit Leben gefüllt. Das internationale Flair und die zweisprachige Bildung werden von lokalen und internationalen Familien gleichermaßen geschätzt.

Liebe Eltern,
unsere Grundschule mit Eingangsstufe wurde im September 2014 im Kasseler Stadtteil Marbachshöhe eröffnet. Unser neues Schulhaus bietet ein sicheres und angenehmes Lernumfeld in einer familiären Schulgemeinschaft. Zum Schuljahr 2017/18 eröffnen wir ein zweisprachiges Gymnasium.

Unser Ziel ist es, unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler jeden Tag zu fordern und zu fördern, ohne sie dabei zu überfordern. Wir legen großen Wert auf die Vermittlung der Lerninhalte nach dem hessischen Lehrplan, den wir um internationale Elemente und SIS-eigene Entwicklungen ergänzen. Gleichzeitig unterstützen wir unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler dabei, sich zu Persönlichkeiten zu entwickeln, die soziale Verantwortung übernehmen. Respekt, Offenheit, Toleranz, lokale Verankerung und kulturelle Vielfalt spielen hierbei eine besondere Rolle.

Im Unterrichtsalltag haben die beiden Schulsprachen Deutsch und Englisch den gleichen Stellenwert. Wir unterrichten mit muttersprachlichen Lehrkräften nach dem Prinzip »eine Person - eine Sprache«: Jede Lehrkraft kommuniziert mit den Schülerinnen und Schülern in ihrer Sprache im Unterricht und während des gesamten Schultages, sodass authentische Lernsituationen entstehen.

Unsere Eingangsstufe für Kinder ab fünf Jahren bietet einen früheren Einstieg in das Schulleben. Kinder lernen hier auf spielerische Art und Weise erste Inhalte des Grundschulunterrichts, wie beispielsweise die Zahlen von 1 bis 10 oder die Buchstaben – natürlich immer auf Deutsch und auf Englisch. Nach einem oder zwei Jahren in der Eingangsstufe wechseln die Kinder in unsere Grundschule.

Eine Aufnahme an die SIS Kassel ist zum Schuljahresbeginn und jederzeit unterjährig möglich. Gerne können Sie einen Gesprächstermin über unser Schulbüro vereinbaren.

Ich freue mich auf Sie!

Ihr
Sebastian Koch, Schulleiter