Secondary School

Whether the Abitur or the IB – the school-leaving certificates our students earn leave them free to follow whichever educational path they choose.

SIS Ingolstadt's Secondary School offers the preparation for two attractive school-leaving certificates – the German Abitur and, if desired, the International Baccalaureate (IB). With the German Abitur or the IB , there is no limit to the educational opportunities available to our students.

At the bilingual, private secondary school at SIS Ingolstadt, English and German are given equal weight. Each subject is typically taught in one language – either in English or in German – for the duration of one school year.

German- and English-speaking teachers – who are usually native speakers – teach at our Secondary School. All teachers are state-approved and either completed their teacher training in Germany or have an equivalent qualification.
 

Areas of Focus: Bilingual Education and Sciences

We teach according to the Bavarian curriculum for eight-year secondary schools with a focus on the sciences. In the interest of a solid and broad education, we focus not only on bilingualism, but also on mathematics and the natural sciences. We conduct science projects on a regular basis, both as part of normal lessons as well as at off-campus locations.

Art, music and athletics are also an integral part of our private school. Our art room provides the space where imaginative works of art are created and then exhibited on school grounds; our athletic field is a place where various ball sports can be played and practised.
 

Certificates: Abitur and IB

Our students graduate with the Bavarian Abitur. However, as a recognised IB World School, we also offer them the opportunity to simultaneously obtain the International Baccalaureate (IB). In years 11 and 12, students follow an integrated programme that prepares them for both sets of exams. The academically challenging combination of Abitur and IB is only offered at a handful of German schools, making it one of the distinct benefits of attending SIS.
 

Access to Universities across the World

With the IB, your children earn a university entrance qualification that prepares them very well for university studies, especially in the English-speaking world. The Diploma Programme is characterised by three distinctive features. The subject area Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) gives students the opportunity to engage actively in arts, sports and community service activities. The theory of knowledge course teaches students to develop independent and critical thinking skills. And by crafting the extended essay, they practise the methods of academic work extensively.
 

State Approved

The secondary school at SIS Ingolstadt is a state approved private school. Please take note of this important information on the school's status.
 

College student at SIS Swiss International School
Talking students in the classroom at SIS Swiss International School

Gymnasium

Ob Abitur oder IB: Wir führen Jugendliche zu Abschlüssen, die später alle Bildungswege offen lassen.

Im Gymnasium bietet die SIS Ingolstadt mit der Vorbereitung auf das Abitur und optional auf das International Baccalaureate (IB) zwei interessante Abschlüsse an. Wer das Abitur oder das IB in der Tasche hat, dem stehen alle Bildungswege offen.

Zweisprachiges Gymnasium

Im bilingualen, privaten Gymnasium der SIS Ingolstadt sind Englisch und Deutsch gleichberechtigte Sprachen. Ein Fach wird üblicherweise für die Dauer eines Schuljahres in einer Sprache, also entweder in Englisch oder in Deutsch, unterrichtet. Deutsch- und englischsprachige Pädagogen, die in der Regel Muttersprachler sind, lehren an unserem Gymnasium. Alle Lehrkräfte sind staatlich genehmigt und haben entweder ihr Lehramtsstudium in Deutschland absolviert oder eine vergleichbare Ausbildung.
 

Schwerpunkte Zweisprachigkeit und Naturwissenschaften

Wir unterrichten nach dem bayerischen Lehrplan für das achtjährige Gymnasium mit naturwissenschaftlichem Profil. Im Sinne einer soliden und breit gefächerten Ausbildung liegt neben der Zweisprachigkeit ein weiterer Schwerpunkt im mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich. Wir führen regelmäßig naturwissenschaftliche Projekte durch, sowohl im Unterricht wie auch an außerschulischen Lernorten.

Auch Kunst, Musik und Sport haben ihren festen Platz an unserer privaten Schule: In unserem Kunstraum entstehen fantasievolle Kunstwerke, die im Schulhaus ausgestellt werden; auf unserem Sportfeld können verschiedene Ballsportarten gespielt und trainiert werden.
 

Abschlüsse: Abitur und IB

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler schließen unsere Schule mit dem bayerischen Abitur ab. Als anerkannte IB World School bieten wir ihnen darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, zusätzlich das International Baccalaureate (IB) abzulegen. In den Klassenstufen 11 und 12 durchlaufen die Schülerinnen und Schüler ein integriertes Programm, das sie auf beide Abschlüsse vorbereitet. Die anspruchsvolle Kombination von Abitur und IB wird nur an wenigen Schulen in Deutschland angeboten und ist eine Besonderheit unserer Schule.
 

Zugang zu Hochschulen weltweit

Mit dem IB erlangen die Jugendlichen eine weltweit anerkannte Hochschulzu-gangsberechtigung, die sie sehr gut auf ein Universitätsstudium insbesondere im englischsprachigen Raum vorbereitet. Das Diploma Programme bietet drei Besonderheiten: Im Bereich CAS (Creativity, Action, Service) werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler künstlerisch, sportlich und sozial aktiv. Theory of Knowledge (Erkenntnistheorie) lehrt sie, eine unabhängige, kritische Denkweise einzunehmen. Mit der Anfertigung des Extended Essay üben sie intensiv die Methoden des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens ein.
 

Staatlich genehmigt

Unser Gymnasium ist eine staatlich genehmigte Ersatzschule. Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die Hinweise zum Status der Schule.

 

Gymnasialschülerin an der SIS Swiss International School
Spaß im Unterricht an der SIS Swiss International School