Primary School

Our students, bilingual education and a healthy performance-based approach are central to teaching and learning at SIS.

At our bilingual Primary School, teaching is based on the Bavarian state curriculum. This state curriculum is supplemented by elements taken from international educational practise as well as by pedagogical standards developed by SIS. Children who attend our Primary School are ideally prepared for the transition to our bilingual Secondary School. Students can transfer from and into the public school system at any time.

Bilingual Teaching

Each class in our Primary School has a German-speaking and an English-speaking class teacher. These two teachers take turns teaching the children in nearly equal measure. The development of language skills in German and English are of paramount importance. This is why SIS has developed its own bilingual reading and writing curriculum. Subjects such as mathematics or social studies are taught in both languages, ensuring that your children acquire a broad vocabulary.
 

School Assembly

In our international school, we value active school spirit and a sense of community. Our students are assigned to mixed-age houses – the Wolves, the Bears and the Foxes. We organise house activities regularly. This fosters team spirit, a sense of belonging, and a positive learning environment. Once a week, all primary school students attend the school assembly, where learning achievements and team accomplishments are presented and honoured.
 

School Hours

Lessons take place from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., and school days are divided into regular intervals with time for learning, play and breaks. We offer homework supervision from 3 p.m. to 4 p.m., and from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m., your children can participate in after-school clubs, or they can read, play or rest.
 

State Approved

The primary school at SIS Ingolstadt is a state approved private school. Please take note of this important information on the school's status.

Cheerful girl at SIS Swiss International School
Children and teacher at SIS Swiss International School

Grundschule

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler, Zweisprachigkeit und eine gesunde Leistungsorientierung stehen im Mittelpunkt unserer Anstrengungen.

Der Unterricht an unserer zweisprachigen Grundschule beruht auf den bayerischen Bildungsplänen. Diese ergänzen wir um Elemente internationaler Pädagogik sowie um SIS-eigene Entwicklungen. Die Kinder werden in unserer Grundschule ideal auf den Besuch unseres bilingualen Gymnasiums vorbereitet. Ein Wechsel von oder zu öffentlichen Schulen ist jederzeit möglich. 

Zweisprachig unterrichten

Jede Klasse in unserer Grundschule hat eine deutsch- und eine englischsprachige Hauptlehrkraft. Diese unterrichten die Kinder abwechselnd und zu etwa gleichen Anteilen. Die Entwicklung von Sprachkompetenzen in Deutsch und Englisch sind von vorrangiger Bedeutung. Deshalb hat die SIS eigene zweisprachige Lese- und Schreibcurricula entwickelt. Fächer wie Mathematik oder der Fächerverbund Heimat- und Sachunterricht werden in beiden Sprachen unterrichtet, um zu gewährleisten, dass Ihre Kinder einen breiten Wortschatz erwerben.
 

Schulversammlung

In unserer internationalen Schule legen wir großen Wert auf eine lebendige Schulgemeinschaft. Unser Schülerinnen und Schüler sind über die Klassenstufen hinweg in so genannte »Häuser« eingeteilt, die Wölfe, die Bären und die Füchse. Innerhalb dieser Häuser führen wir gemeinsame Aktivitäten durch. Dies fördert Teamgeist, Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl und eine positive Lernumgebung. Einmal wöchentlich kommen alle Grundschüler in der Schulversammlung zusammen, in der Lernergebnisse und Teamleistungen vorgestellt und ausgezeichnet werden.
 

Unterrichtszeiten

Der Unterricht findet von 8:30 bis 15 Uhr statt, rhythmisiert durch den Wechsel von Lern-, Spiel- und Pausenzeiten. Von 15 bis 16 Uhr bieten wir eine Hausaufgabenbetreuung an, in der Zeit von 16 bis 18 Uhr können Ihre Kinder an Arbeitsgemeinschaften teilnehmen, lesen, spielen oder sich ausruhen.
 

Staatlich genehmigt

Die Grundschule der SIS Ingolstadt ist eine staatlich genehmigte Ersatzschule. Bitte beachten Sie hierzu die wichtigen Informationen zum Status der Schule.

Fröhliches Mädchen an der SIS Swiss International School
Kinder und Lehrerin an der SIS Swiss International School