Primary School

Our students, bilingual education and a healthy performance-based approach are central to teaching and learning at SIS.

At our bilingual Primary School, teaching is based on the Baden-Württemberg state curriculum. This state curriculum is supplemented by elements taken from international educational practise as well as by pedagogical standards developed by SIS. Children who attend our Primary School are ideally prepared for the transition to our bilingual Secondary School. Students can transfer from and into the public school system at any time.

Bilingual Teaching

Each class in our Primary School has a German-speaking and an English-speaking class teacher. These two teachers take turns teaching the children in nearly equal measure. The development of language skills in German and English is of paramount importance. This is why SIS has developed its own bilingual reading and writing curriculum. Subjects such as mathematics or social science are taught in both languages, ensuring that your children acquire a broad vocabulary.
 

Joined-up Learning through Project Work

Project work is an important part of our lessons at SIS Friedrichshafen. Projects in which students work together in mixed-age groups are part of the teaching strategy for many of the topics contained in Baden-Württemberg's curriculum. The objective of our math or health days, for example, is to convey the curriculum contents using diverse methods, to help students connect the dots and to strengthen the school community by working together on projects and events.
 

School Hours

Lessons take place from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., and school days are divided into regular intervals with time for learning, play and breaks. Our early care from 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. allows children to arrive and get ready for the day. We offer homework supervision from 3 p.m. to 4 p.m., and from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m., your children can participate in after-school clubs, or they can read, play or rest.
 

State Recognised

The primary school at SIS Friedrichshafen is a state recognised private school. Please take note of this important information on the school's status.

SIS Friedrichshafen Schuelerinnen Grundschule

Grundschule

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler, Zweisprachigkeit und eine gesunde Leistungsorientierung stehen im Mittelpunkt unserer Anstrengungen.

Der Unterricht an unserer zweisprachigen Grundschule beruht auf den baden-württembergischen Bildungsplänen. Diese ergänzen wir um Elemente internationaler Pädagogik sowie um SIS-eigene Entwicklungen. Die Kinder werden in unserer Grundschule ideal auf den Besuch unseres bilingualen Gymnasiums vorbereitet. Ein Wechsel von oder zu öffentlichen Schulen ist jederzeit möglich.

Zweisprachig unterrichten

Jede Klasse in unserer Grundschule hat eine deutsch- und eine englischsprachige Hauptlehrkraft. Diese unterrichten die Kinder abwechselnd und zu etwa gleichen Anteilen. Die Entwicklung von Sprachkompetenzen in Deutsch und Englisch sind von vorrangiger Bedeutung. Deshalb hat die SIS eigene zweisprachige Lese- und Schreibcurricula entwickelt. Fächer wie Mathematik oder der Fächerverbund »Mensch, Natur und Kultur« werden in beiden Sprachen unterrichtet, um zu gewährleisten, dass Ihre Kinder einen breiten Wortschatz erwerben.
 

Vernetzes Lernen durch Projektarbeit

Projektarbeit ist ein wichtiger Unterrichtsbestandteil an der SIS Friedrichshafen. Viele Themen, die im baden-württembergischen Bildungsplan verankert sind, werden bei uns in stufenübergreifenden Projekten erarbeitet. Ziel etwa von Mathematik- oder Gesundheitstagen ist es, die Inhalte durch abwechslungsreiche Methoden zu vermitteln, Zusammenhänge herzustellen und unsere Schulgemeinschaft durch gemeinsame Veranstaltungen zu stärken.
 

Unterrichtszeiten

Der Unterricht findet ganztägig von 8:30 bis 15 Uhr statt, rhythmisiert durch den Wechsel von Lern-, Spiel- und Pausenzeiten. Während der Morgenbetreuung von 7:30 bis 8:30 Uhr kommen die Kinder an und stimmen sich auf den Tag ein. Von 15 bis 16 Uhr bieten wir eine Hausaufgabenbetreuung an, in der Zeit von 16 bis 18 Uhr können Ihre Kinder an Arbeitsgemeinschaften teilnehmen, lesen, spielen oder sich ausruhen.
 

Staatlich anerkannt

Die Grundschule der SIS Friedrichshafen ist eine staatlich anerkannte Ersatzschule. Bitte beachten Sie hierzu die wichtigen Informationen zum Status der Schule.

SIS Friedrichshafen Schuelerinnen Grundschule
SIS Friedrichshafen Schueler Treppe