Secondary School (grades 11 to 13)

Whether bilingual Abitur or IB – we guide students to certificates that leave all educational paths open.

In grades 11 to 13, which SIS Berlin offers as of the school year 2016/17, students are prepared for the bilingual Abitur, and optionally also for the International Baccalaureate (IB). For those who wish to complete both Abitur and IB, all paths are open.

Throughout our Secondary School, teaching is bilingual. Each subject is typically taught in one language – either in English or in German – for the duration of one academic year. All teachers are state approved and have either completed their teacher training in Germany or hold an equivalent qualification.
 

Certificates: Bilingual Abitur and IB

Secondary school at SIS Berlin guides students in three years to the bilingual Abitur. However, as a recognised IB World School, we also provide the opportunity of simultaneously earning the International Baccalaureate (IB). In years 11 to 13, students follow an integrated programme that prepares them for both sets of exams.

The academically challenging combination of Abitur and IB is only offered at a handful of German schools, making it one of the distinct benefits of attending SIS.
 

Access to Universities across the World

With the International Baccalaureate (IB), your children earn a globally recognised university entrance qualification that prepares them superbly for university studies, especially in the English-speaking world. The Diploma Programme is characterised by three distinctive features. The subject area Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) gives students the opportunity to engage actively in arts, sports and community service activities. The theory of knowledge course teaches students to develop independent and critical thinking skills. And by crafting the extended essay, they practise the methods of academic work extensively.
 

State Approved

Our Secondary School is a state approved private school. Please take note of this important information on the school's status.
 

College student at SIS Swiss International School
Students working together on the computer at SIS Swiss International School

Gymnasiale Oberstufe

Ob bilinguales Abitur oder IB: Wir führen Jugendliche zu Abschlüssen, die später alle Bildungswege offen lassen.

In der gymnasialen Oberstufe, die die SIS Berlin ab dem Schuljahr 2016/17 anbietet, werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler auf das bilinguale Abitur und optional auch auf das International Baccalaureate (IB) vorbereitet. Wer das Abitur und das IB in der Tasche hat, dem stehen alle Bildungswege offen.

Zweisprachig auch in der Oberstufe

Auch in der gymnasialen Oberstufe ist der Unterricht durchgängig zweisprachig organisiert. Ein Fach wird üblicherweise für die Dauer eines Schuljahres in einer Sprache, also entweder in Englisch oder in Deutsch, unterrichtet. Alle Lehrkräfte sind staatlich genehmigt und haben entweder ihr Lehramtsstudium in Deutschland absolviert oder eine vergleichbare Ausbildung.
 

Abschlüsse: Bilinguales Abitur und IB

Die gymnasiale Oberstufe der SIS Berlin führt ihre Schülerinnen und Schüler in drei Jahren zum bilingualen Abitur. Als anerkannte IB World School bieten wir ihnen darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, zusätzlich das International Baccalaureate (IB) abzulegen. In den Klassenstufen 11 bis 13 durchlaufen die Schülerinnen und Schüler ein integriertes Programm, das sie auf beide Abschlüsse vorbereitet.

Die anspruchsvolle Kombination von Abitur und IB wird nur an wenigen Schulen in Deutschland angeboten und ist eine Besonderheit unserer Schule.
 

Zugang zu Hochschulen weltweit

Mit dem International Baccalaureate (IB) erlangen die Jugendlichen eine weltweit anerkannte Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, die sie sehr gut auf ein Universitätsstudium insbesondere im englischsprachigen Raum vorbereitet. Das Diploma Programme bietet drei Besonderheiten: Im Bereich CAS (Creativity, Activity, Service) werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler künstlerisch, sportlich und sozial aktiv. Theory of Knowledge (Erkenntnistheorie) lehrt sie, eine unabhängige, kritische Denkweise einzunehmen. Mit der Anfertigung des Extended Essay üben sie intensiv die Methoden des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens ein.
 

Staatlich genehmigt

Unsere gymnasiale Oberstufe ist eine staatlich genehmigte Ersatzschule. Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die Hinweise zum Status der Schule.

 

Gymnasialschülerin an der SIS Swiss International School
Teamwork am Computer an der SIS Swiss International School