Primary School

Our students, bilingual education and a healthy performance-based approach are central to teaching and learning at SIS.

At our bilingual Primary School, teaching is based on the Berlin state curriculum. This state curriculum is supplemented by elements taken from international educational practise as well as by pedagogical standards developed by SIS. Children who attend our Primary School are ideally prepared in six years for the transition to our bilingual Secondary School. Students can transfer from and into the public school system at any time.

Bilingual Teaching

Both German and English are equivalent teaching languages, imparted by our native speaking teachers with a lot of empathy. Through the immersion method, primary students learn the respective partner language in a natural way. Equal to the acquisition of the mother tongue, students dive headfirst into the new language, which surrounds them in class as well as outside during extra-curricular activities and homework assignments.
 

Diversity of Methods and Modern Equipment

We promote interlinked thinking through comprehensive subject classes in which we emphasise diversity of methods (team and project work, experimental learning and sequences guided by teachers) and well-coordinated transitions between class levels.

The use of modern technology supports students in their individual learning process. Computers and tablets are used in the classroom in various ways.
 

School Hours

The school day starts with an optional before school supervision from 7:30 a.m. until 8:30 a.m. Lessons take place from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. (Friday until 1:45 p.m.), and school days are divided into regular intervals with time for learning, play and breaks. Until 4:30 p.m. children have the possibility to participate in various after-school clubs. After school supervision from 4:30 p.m. until 5:30 p.m. is also possible.
 

State Approved

The primary school at SIS Berlin is a state approved private school. Please take note of this important information on the school's status.
 

Learning with tablet at SIS Swiss International School
Children and teacher at SIS Swiss International School
SIS studen outdoors
Student with vibrating bell at SIS Swiss International School

Grundschule

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler, Zweisprachigkeit und eine gesunde Leistungsorientierung stehen im Mittelpunkt unserer Anstrengungen.

Der Unterricht an unserer zweisprachigen Grundschule beruht auf dem Berliner Rahmenlehrplan. Diesen ergänzen wir um Elemente internationaler Pädagogik sowie um SIS-eigene Entwicklungen. Die Kinder werden in unserer Grundschule in sechs Jahren ideal auf den Besuch unserer bilingualen Sekundarschule vorbereitet. Ein Wechsel von oder zu öffentlichen Schulen ist jederzeit möglich.

Zweisprachig unterrichten

Deutsch und Englisch sind an unserer Grundschule gleichwertige Unterrichtssprachen, die von unseren deutsch- und englischsprachigen Pädagogen mit viel Einfühlungsvermögen vermittelt werden. Über die Immersionsmethode erlernen die Grundschulkinder die jeweils andere Sprache. Analog zum Erwerb der Muttersprache tauchen die Schülerinnen und Schüler in die neue Sprache ein. Diese umgibt sie während des Unterrichts im Klassenverband und auch während der außerschulischen Aktivitäten oder der Studierzeit.
 

Methodenvielfalt und moderne Ausstattung

Wir fördern vernetztes Denken durch fächer- und klassenübergreifenden Unterricht, wobei wir viel Wert auf Methodenvielfalt (Team- und Projektarbeit, experimentelles Lernen und lehrergeleitete Sequenzen) und gut abgestimmte Übergänge zwischen den Klassenstufen legen.

Die Verwendung zeitgemäßer Technologie unterstützt die Schülerinnen und Schüler in ihrem Lernprozess. Computer und Tablets kommen im Unterricht auf vielfältige Weise zum Einsatz.
 

Unterrichtszeiten

Der Unterricht findet von 8:30 bis 15:30 Uhr (freitags bis 14 Uhr) statt, rhythmisiert durch den Wechsel von Lern-, Spiel- und Pausenzeiten. Daran anschließend haben Ihre Kinder die Möglichkeit, bis 16:30 Uhr (freitags bis 16 Uhr) an zahlreichen Arbeitsgemeinschaften teilzunehmen.
 

Staatlich genehmigte Ersatzschule

Die Grundschule der SIS Berlin ist eine staatlich genehmigte Ersatzschule. Bitte beachten Sie hierzu die wichtigen Informationen zum Status der Schule.
 

Lernen mit Tablet an der SIS Swiss International School
Kinder und Lehrerin an der SIS Swiss International School
SIS Schüler
Schülerin mit Rasseln an der SIS Swiss International School